The Love For My Child

After having a blog comment conversation with Meg from Color Me Dazzled

I was inspired to write this next post to raise the following question to fellow parent bloggers:
1- How do you describe the love of a parent?
2- What does it feel like to be a parent?
3- How do you describe the journey of parenthood?
4- What lengths would you go to to protect your child?

I thought I would share my answers to these questions and I would love to hear other parents reflect on the same questions, when you go to answer them yourself I think you will find they are a lot more difficult than you think to answer

So here goes…..
1- How do you describe the love of a parent?
I simply can not answer this one with adjectives to describe the love I have for my son. There are no words strong enough to describe the love as a parent and to try and label it I feel would do the description and injustice!!
Quite simply it is a love like no other that is beyond words.

2- What does it feel like to be a parent?
Once again this is a difficult question to answer as its so personal and so objective. But I will try regardless. My life was always great pre-baby, loved my life with my partner, family and friends and felt my life was amazing.
Until 19 December 2011 came around and I held this little scrunched up screaming puffed up mini sumo wrestler in my arms and from that moment on I felt “complete”. It was like a piece of the jigsaw puzzle of my life was missing without me knowing and now it had been found.
So my answer for question 2 is being a mum makes me feel complete

3- How do you describe the journey of parenthood?
Amazing
Stressful
Learning curve
Exhausting
Entertaining
Scary and most importantly
Full of Love ❤❤

4- What lengths would you go to to protect your child?
Once again I can not answer this as I’ve not been put into a situation to require any brut strength but my previous posts I guess shows I will do whatever it takes to have a happy and healthy little man. So all I can say is that I’m a bit like a female grizzly bear and do not under estimate what I will do to protect my boy…..try me if you dare “roar” lol

So to conclude; there are no words, I’m now complete, it’s an enigmatic experience and I’m a grizzly bear

20130530-104252.jpg

5 thoughts on “The Love For My Child

  1. All these questions are so hard to answer, but I think any mum will have their own answer. I am interesting in your no.2 question. It reminds me about the time when my daughter first came along with me. Sometimes I feel terrible because I “forgot” I am a mum now. It took me a while to get used to call myself as “Mum”.

    • They are all such emotive and personal questions which is why I’m interested in reading other people’s answers 🙂 there is no instruction book when it comes to the right and wrong of parenting it really is such a personal thing

  2. 1. How do you describe the love of a parent?
    It’s something unconditional, that no matter what happens, what your child may do or be or act or whatever, it doesn’t matter. They are your child and that is the love and connection you have. And I’ll use this quote that I absolutely love (and have it framed in both childrens rooms) “No one else will ever know the strength of my love for you. After all, you’re the only one who knows what my heart sounds like from the inside”.
    I don’t think that one word can describe it either!

    2. What does it feel like to be a parent?
    It is the most amazing feeling ever, to know that you and your partner created this little person, this human being, that you grew and nurtured them in your tummy for (give or take) 9 months, that you have bought them into the world and you will teach them lifelong lessons. That they will always look to you for guidance and love, it seems like life wasn’t complete until we had children, there was something missing. Like a jigsaw puzzle!

    3. How do you describe the journey of parenthood?
    Learning
    Challening
    Inspiring
    Fun
    Wonderful
    Tiring
    Amazing
    Loving

    4. What lengths would you go to to protect your child?
    I’d do anything to protect my child that will keep them safe but show them right from wrong – what is the right way to go about something. For example, there’s no point in doing something so bad you end up behind bars because it’s not teaching them anything positive and you have separated them from you.
    I truly believe that you know your child best so follow your heart until you feel right.

  3. 1. How do you describe the love of a parent?
    To me it is probably the first truly unconditional love I have felt. It surpasses that that I feel for parents or siblings (which is also unconditional but just feels different). You are right, this one is hard to describe!

    2. What does it feel like to be a parent?
    Like one of the other comments I used to forget that I was a mum at first and for a few months I felt like a fraud calling myself mum! And then one day it all clicks in and you actually feel like a parent. Another one that’s hard to explain. I guess I feel like my mum! ha

    3. How do you describe the journey of parenthood?
    It is one of the great joys and journeys of life. Sometimes it sucks too. That’s the reality. But you won’t mind at all.

    4. What lengths would you go to to protect your child?
    There are no limits.

    Hey I’ve nominated you for a shine on award. Pop over to my blog to see the post called Shine On Award for details. 🙂

Leave a Reply

